Learn from Buda

Diciembre 10, 2012
Publicado en Aprendizaje, Autosuperación, Bienestar, General, Principios

Las Cuatro Nobles Verdades

Toda existencia es sufrimiento
El origen del sufrimiento es el anhelo
El sufrimiento puede extinguirse, extinguiendo su causa.
Para extinguir la causa del sufrimiento, debemos seguir el Noble camino óctuple.

El óctuple sendero

Comprensión correcta
Pensamiento correcto
Palabra correcta
Acción correcta
Ocupación correcta
Esfuerzo correcto
Atención correcta
Concentración correcta

La observación del síntoma / El diagnóstico / El pronóstico / La prescripción: Las cuatro nobles verdades

Conciencia…explora con 6 sentidos

El «síntoma»: La insatisfacción

Toda existencia es insatisfactoria. La existencia y sus partes son sufrimiento.

El «diagnóstico»: La causa del descontento. El sufrimiento proviene del anhelo-aferramiento y la ignorancia.
El motivo para realizar estas acciones, o sea, el origen y porqué del sufrimiento, es la naturaleza humana.

La posible cesación del sufrimiento
El sufrimiento puede ser vencido, hay que embarcarse en un estudio para hallar sus causas y comprobarlas por uno mismo, y después, eliminarlas.


The Four Noble Truths:

1. All things and experiences are marked by suffering/ disharmony/ frustration (dukkha).

2. The arising of suffering/ disharmony/ frustration comes from desire/ craving/ clinging.

3. To achieve the cessation or end of suffering/ disharmony/ frustration, let go of desire/ craving/ clinging.

4. The way to achieve that cessation of suffering/ disharmony/ frustration, is walking theEightfold Path.


The eightfold path to the cessation of suffering:

1. Right Understanding of the following facts:

• the truth about suffering … (The Four Truths);

• everything is impermanent and changes;

• there is no separate individual self- this is an illusion. (We are one!)


2. Right Determination to:

• give up what is wrong and evil;

• undertake what is good;

• abandon thoughts that have to do with bringing suffering to any conscious being; cultivate thoughts of loving kindness, that are based on caring about others’ suffering, and sympathetic joy in others’ happiness.


3. Right Speech:

• Abstain from telling lies.

• Abstain from talk that brings harm or discredit to others (such as backbiting or slander) or talk that creates hatred or disharmony between individuals and groups.

• Abstain from harsh, rude, impolite, malicious, or abusive language.

• Abstain from idle, useless, and foolish babble and gossip. Abstain from recrimination and negative statements.

• Abstain from harsh speech—practice kindly speech.

• Abstain from frivolous speech—practice meaningful speech.

• Abstain from slanderous speech—practice harmonious speech.

• Speak the truth if it is useful and timely. Practice only necessary speech. Let your speech be filled with loving kindness. Speak that which alleviates suffering.


4. Right Action:

• Peaceful, honorable conduct; abstain from dishonest dealings; take concrete steps necessary to foster what is good.

• Do things that are moral, honest, and alleviate suffering. Do not do things that will bring suffering to others or yourself.


5. Right Livelihood:

• Abstain from making your living from an occupation that brings harm and suffering to humans or animals, or diminish their well being. This includes: activities that directly harm conscious beings, and activities that indirectly harm sentient beings, e.g., making weapons or poisons.


6. Right Effort:

• Foster good and prevent evil;

• Work on yourself—be engaged in appropriate self-improvement. The essence of right effort is that everything must be done with a sense of proper balance that fits the situation. Effort should be balanced between trying too hard and not trying hard enough. For example, strike the balance between excessive fasting and over-indulgence in food. Trying hard to progress too rapidly gets poor results, as does not trying hard enough.


7. Right Mindfulness or wakefulness:

• Foster right attention.

• Avoid whatever clouds our mental awareness (e.g., drugs).

• Systematically and intentionally develop awareness.


8. Right Concentration:

• Developed by practicing meditation and/or mental focusing. Proper meditation must be done continuously while awake, and should include work on awareness of body, emotions, thought, and mind objects.


Five basic precepts:

1. Abstain from killing living beings (from destroying/taking life)—or practice love.

2. Abstain from taking the not-given (from stealing)—or practice generosity, practice giving.

3. Abstain from sexual misconduct—or practice contentment.

4. Abstain from false speech (from lying)—or practice truthfulness.

5. Abstain from taking intoxicating drinks—or practice awareness and mental clarity.

«Our prime purpose in life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them.»
– Dalai Lama